Are the bees coming out?

Not a bee, but a Saw Fly.

Not a bee, but a saw fly.

Last week, I saw a bumblebee go by a window, and dashed out to see where she was going. I missed her, but I did find this bee-like bug, resting on the stamen of a crocus flower.  It had a cute little face and long antennae like a bee, but it didn’t seem all that interested in pollen. Could it be a bee?

Nope, it’s a saw fly. Apparently, saw flies are not flies, but part of the bees and wasps family. They are called saw flies because the female’s ovipositor is like a tiny saw that she uses to cut a slit in grass stems and lay eggs inside. Not a bee, but I learned about a new bug.

About Pam Phillips

I am a writer and gardener. I never cease to be amazed by the wonder and beauty of bees.
This entry was posted in Bees and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.