Killer Maggots

Syrphid fly larva

Syrphid fly larva

Remember the syrphid fly that was laying eggs the other day? Well, they hatched. And the larvae are just that: larval. I mean ladybug larva are pretty cool looking. Even caterpillars can be cute.

But this? This is a soulless, horrible maggot.

On the bright side, they suck the juice out of aphids. They’re not so easy to spot. The aphids cluster in their hordes, but I have to put on my reading glasses and lean in close to spot tiny yellowish maggots next to them. The camera gets a even closer look.

Wanna see?

Syrphid larva attacking an aphid

Syrphid larva attacking an aphid

EWWW!

You vampire lovers out there are in serious denial.

About Pam Phillips

I am a writer and gardener. I never cease to be amazed by the wonder and beauty of bees.
This entry was posted in Bees, garden and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.